Warning: include_once(/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288

Warning: include_once() [function.include]: Failed opening '/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/services/vux/lib/php') in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288
Kingsbury Wins Top Prize; First for A Novel, Woman | Alive Literary

Kingsbury Wins Top Prize; First for A Novel, Woman

Karen Kingsbury

Karen Kingsbury

July 2007 – Alive’s Karen Kingsbury, America’s #1 inspirational novelist, added to her honors at ICRS by winning the industry’s top prize for her novel, Ever After (Zondervan). Previous winners of the coveted “Book of the Year” award have all been nonfiction works written by men, including Rick Warren, Philip Yancey and Max Lucado.

“This is the first time the award has been given for a novel and also to a woman. It’s a double coup and I am extraordinarily proud of the honor and acclaim accorded Karen,” said her long-time agent Rick Christian, President of Alive Communications, who noted that the achievement garnered her a photo and write-up the following day in USA Today.

The award, which reflects literary excellence and sales performance, was announced July 9 at the CBA & ECPA Awards Celebration held at the annual ICRS trade show in Atlanta. At the convention, Kingsbury learned that she was also named “Novelist of the Year” by The Association of Logos Bookstores, a non-profit, trade association comprised of 24 independent bookstores located throughout the U.S., Canada, and the Bahamas.

Kingsbury has tallied sales of more than six million books, with two million of those occurring in the past 12 months. “Karen’s velocity of sales is unlike any other novelist, resulting in a flood of many thousands of letters annually, with readers attesting to the life-changing impact of her work.” Christian said.

The “Book of the Year” award was instituted in 1992. Previous winners are:

2006–Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Kevin J. Vanhoozer, General Editor, Baker Academic; 2005–Experiencing the Passion of Jesus. Lee Strobel and Gary Poole, Zondervan ; 2004–The Purpose Driven Life. Rick Warren, Zondervan; 2003–The Purpose Driven Life. Rick Warren, Zondervan; 2002–The Prayer of Jabez. Dr. Bruce H. Wilkinson, Multnomah; 2001–The Prayer of Jabez. Dr. Bruce H. Wilkinson, Multnomah; 2000–Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire. Jim Cymbala with Dean Merrill, Zondervan; 1999–Just Like Jesus. Max Lucado, Word; 1998–What’s So Amazing About Grace. Philip Yancey, Zondervan; 1997–In the Grip of Grace. Max Lucado, Word; 1996–The Jesus I Never Knew. Philip Yancey, Zondervan; 1995–When God Whispers Your Name. Max Lucado, Word; 1994–When God Doesn’t Make Sense. Dr. James C. Dobson, Tyndale; 1993–The Body. Charles Colson with Ellen Santrill Vaughn, Word; 1992–The Coming Economic Earthquake. Larry Burkett, Moody.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply:

Our clients' books have appeared atop national best-seller lists, including:

  • The New York Times
  • Wall Street Journal
  • USA Today
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Chicago Tribune
  • Los Angeles Times
  • CBA Marketplace
  • Amazon.com
  • BarnesandNoble.com
  • European Bookstore Journal
  • Washington Post

Alive Communications authors have received a number of many prestigious awards, including the Nobel Prize, National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize.

Other awards include:

  • American Cancer Society "Sword of Hope" Award
  • American-Turkish Council Media Award
  • Angel Award
  • Branch Rickey Award
  • Campus Life's Book of Year
  • CBC Book of the Year (UK)
  • Chicago Book Clinic's Honor Book
  • Christy Award
  • C.I.N.E. Golden Eagle Award
  • Clive Staples Award
  • Columbia University's Maria Moors Cabot Award
  • Deo Gloria
  • Dove Award
  • ECPA Book of the Year
  • Extraordinary Woman of the Year
  • Gene Autry Award
  • Good Housekeeping's Outstanding Young Woman
  • Grammy Award
  • Group magazine's Book of Year
  • High Frontier Award
  • Inc.'s Entrepreneur of Year
  • Lou Gehrig Award
  • Romantic Times' Lifetime Achievement Award
  • AudioFile's Earphones Award
  • Philadelphia Sports Writer's Most Courageous Athlete
  • ECPA Pinnacle and Gold Book Awards
  • Texas Institute's Best Nonfiction Book
  • NYT's Children's Book of Year
  • Theologos Best Children's Book
  • U.S. Silver Screen Award
  • Vince Lombardi Award
  • Willie Mac Award
  • Writers' Foundation of America's "Best Fiction/Author" award.