Warning: include_once(/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288

Warning: include_once() [function.include]: Failed opening '/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/services/vux/lib/php') in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288
PW Stars Peterson Memoir | Alive Literary

PW Stars Peterson Memoir

February 23, 2011–Eugene Peterson’s long-awaited memoir, The Pastor: Every Step an Arrival (HarperOne), received a starred review in this week’s Publisher’s Weekly:

“Theology professor, author (The Message), and long-time pastor Peterson brings his remarkable storytelling skills and empathic understanding of human nature to this insightful and entertaining exploration of his evolving vocational discernment as pastor and writer. With short story-like chapters named after people, places, and spiritual disciplines, such as ‘Uncle Sven,’ ‘My Father’s Butcher Shop,’ and ‘Eucharistic Hospitality,’ Peterson brings to life the environments and relationships that shaped him: his Norwegian-immigrant, Pentecostal upbringing in small-town Montana; seminary professors and Presbyterian pastors in New York City; and his lengthy pastorate in Maryland, a ministry fully shared with his wife, Jan. With wisdom and humility, Peterson grapples with challenges particular to parish ministry, such as the desire to fix parishioners’ problems, the compulsion to work long hours in compensation for being ‘invisible six days a week,’ and an emotional malaise he terms the “badlands.” By sharing disciplines that enabled him to enjoy a long, healthy pastorate, such as Sabbath Mondays, Emmaus walks, the company of other pastors, and extensive reading, Peterson offers concrete guidance to those engaged in or considering a pastoral vocation. Introspective, thought-provoking, and entertaining reflections from one of America’s spiritual leaders. (Mar.)”

The publishing deal was negotiated by Alive’s President Rick Christian, who said the book is “must-reading” for pastors, lay leaders and seminarians. Peterson will be interviewed widely in conjunction with next month’s release of the memoir, including Feb. 26th on NPR’s Weekend “All Things Considered.”–RC

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply:

Our clients' books have appeared atop national best-seller lists, including:

  • The New York Times
  • Wall Street Journal
  • USA Today
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Chicago Tribune
  • Los Angeles Times
  • CBA Marketplace
  • Amazon.com
  • BarnesandNoble.com
  • European Bookstore Journal
  • Washington Post

Alive Communications authors have received a number of many prestigious awards, including the Nobel Prize, National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize.

Other awards include:

  • American Cancer Society "Sword of Hope" Award
  • American-Turkish Council Media Award
  • Angel Award
  • Branch Rickey Award
  • Campus Life's Book of Year
  • CBC Book of the Year (UK)
  • Chicago Book Clinic's Honor Book
  • Christy Award
  • C.I.N.E. Golden Eagle Award
  • Clive Staples Award
  • Columbia University's Maria Moors Cabot Award
  • Deo Gloria
  • Dove Award
  • ECPA Book of the Year
  • Extraordinary Woman of the Year
  • Gene Autry Award
  • Good Housekeeping's Outstanding Young Woman
  • Grammy Award
  • Group magazine's Book of Year
  • High Frontier Award
  • Inc.'s Entrepreneur of Year
  • Lou Gehrig Award
  • Romantic Times' Lifetime Achievement Award
  • AudioFile's Earphones Award
  • Philadelphia Sports Writer's Most Courageous Athlete
  • ECPA Pinnacle and Gold Book Awards
  • Texas Institute's Best Nonfiction Book
  • NYT's Children's Book of Year
  • Theologos Best Children's Book
  • U.S. Silver Screen Award
  • Vince Lombardi Award
  • Willie Mac Award
  • Writers' Foundation of America's "Best Fiction/Author" award.