Warning: include_once(/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288

Warning: include_once() [function.include]: Failed opening '/data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/admin/tinymce/tinymce.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/services/vux/lib/php') in /data/20/2/106/112/2106601/user/2311149/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/nggallery.php on line 288
ECPA honors Brennan Manning with Lifetime Achievement Award | Alive Literary

ECPA honors Brennan Manning with Lifetime Achievement Award

Colorado Springs, CO–April 28, 2014–ECPA President Mark Kuyper presented the Jordon Lifetime Achievement Award tonight to Brennan Manning, thus granting the late author the Christian publishing industry’s highest individual honor.

Accepting on behalf of Brennan’s family, Alive’s president Rick Christian remarked:

“I was privileged to work with Brennan a good bit of his professional life and mostly remember him as an impish leprechaun of a man, wearing his patched ragamuffin jeans and sharing an ice cream cone.

On one of his last visits to Colorado Springs, we had breakfast together, finished it with a big fat cone, then he administered communion to me and my wife Debbie in his Holiday Inn room. Soon after, he went downhill fast; early blind, he took a lot of bad falls and got really sick. A year ago this month, Abba’s Child slipped quietly away, into the arms of the One who, as he described it, was exceedingly fond of him. Yesterday he would have been 80.

Each of (Brennan’s) books was, essentially, a love story for the brokenhearted.

Ultimately, Brennan’s life work for which he is posthumously honored tonight, reminds us that God typically doesn’t choose the A-Team through which to display his Kingdom and Power and Glory. He has a thing for the “Brennans” of the world…. The way I see it, Abba uses whatever warm bodies are available and expresses extraordinary fondness for them–right where they’re at. He did so with my friend Brennan. He did so with me . . . and with you. We can only stand back and marvel.”

BRENNAN MANNING (1934-2013) spent his life helping others experience the reality of God’s love and grace. A recovering alcoholic and a former Franciscan priest, he walked a spiritual journey that took him down a variety of paths. He taught seminarians, spoke to packed arenas, lived in a cave while laboring with the poor in Spain, and ministered to shrimpers in Alabama. His unflinching honesty about himself as a ragamuffin, an imposter, and a man in search of the undeserved love of Jesus has encouraged millions of Christians who have grown weary along the way. Brennan is best known as the author of the contemporary classics The Ragamuffin Gospel, All Is Grace, Abba’s Child, Ruthless Trust, The Furious Longing of God, The Importance of Being Foolish, and Patched Together.

The Jordon Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association to an individual for their exceptional contributions to the Christian publishing industry and is named in honor of Charles “Kip” Jordon (1945-1997), Christian publishing veteran of more than 25 years, and former publisher of Word Publishing. Former recipients include Billy Graham, Joni Eareckson Tada, John Stott, Bruce Ryskamp, Pat Zondervan, John Perkins, and Muriel Dennis. –DC

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply:

Our clients' books have appeared atop national best-seller lists, including:

  • The New York Times
  • Wall Street Journal
  • USA Today
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Chicago Tribune
  • Los Angeles Times
  • CBA Marketplace
  • Amazon.com
  • BarnesandNoble.com
  • European Bookstore Journal
  • Washington Post

Alive Communications authors have received a number of many prestigious awards, including the Nobel Prize, National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize.

Other awards include:

  • American Cancer Society "Sword of Hope" Award
  • American-Turkish Council Media Award
  • Angel Award
  • Branch Rickey Award
  • Campus Life's Book of Year
  • CBC Book of the Year (UK)
  • Chicago Book Clinic's Honor Book
  • Christy Award
  • C.I.N.E. Golden Eagle Award
  • Clive Staples Award
  • Columbia University's Maria Moors Cabot Award
  • Deo Gloria
  • Dove Award
  • ECPA Book of the Year
  • Extraordinary Woman of the Year
  • Gene Autry Award
  • Good Housekeeping's Outstanding Young Woman
  • Grammy Award
  • Group magazine's Book of Year
  • High Frontier Award
  • Inc.'s Entrepreneur of Year
  • Lou Gehrig Award
  • Romantic Times' Lifetime Achievement Award
  • AudioFile's Earphones Award
  • Philadelphia Sports Writer's Most Courageous Athlete
  • ECPA Pinnacle and Gold Book Awards
  • Texas Institute's Best Nonfiction Book
  • NYT's Children's Book of Year
  • Theologos Best Children's Book
  • U.S. Silver Screen Award
  • Vince Lombardi Award
  • Willie Mac Award
  • Writers' Foundation of America's "Best Fiction/Author" award.